DONT YOU TRUST ME cover

Launch Event! Patrice Kindl’s DON’T YOU TRUST ME (Audiobook)

DYTM Banner

I am SUPER excited to share this launch with you!  Patrice Kindl’s new YA novel, DON’T YOU TRUST ME, reminds me of Ally Carter’s HEIST SOCIETY series.

Audiobook Info for Audio Spotlights

Synopsis: A teenage girl switches identities with a stranger and pulls off a long-term scam in this smart, sarcastic thriller perfect for fans of Ally Carter.

Don’t you trust me? I mean, look at me. Blond, blue eyed, the very image of innocence. Pretty enough, if you care about that kind of thing. I don’t. But would a normal person switch identities with some wet mess of a girl at the airport just to get her to stop bawling about being separated from her loser boyfriend and sent to live with some distant relatives? Nope, she wouldn’t. Yet I did. I’m not as normal as you think. And you’ll just have to trust me.

©2016 Patrice Kindl (P)2016 Recorded Books

Goodreads

Author’s website (Patrice Kindl)

Continue reading

ya-sp-kurtagich-and-the-trees-crept-in-200x300

Second Look: Dawn Kurtagich’s AND THE TREES CREPT IN

A while back, I announced that I won Dawn Kurtagich’s giveaway.  It included an ARC of her newest novel, AND THE TREES CREPT IN.  To say I was excited would be an understatement because I freaking loved THE DEAD HOUSE (which I apparently neglected to write a review for…).

Anyway, while on vacation, after finishing HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD, I dove into this super creepy novel.

After a few distractions (like finishing Preston’s THE CABIN), I finally finished it.  And boy, was it a doozy!

ya-sp-kurtagich-and-the-trees-crept-in-200x300

September 6, 2016

Dawn Kurtagich’s AND THE TREES CREPT IN
Little Brown Books for Young Readers, 2016

What It’s About:

To escape their abusive father, Silla takes her little sister, Nori, with her to La Baume, the house her mother grew up in.  Her mother’s older sister, Cathy, still lives there.  And while Silla has never met Cathy, she knows that escaping to her mother’s childhood home has to be better than staying with her father…

Or is it?

tumblr_n78fctomas1r7pxxqo2_500

(Sorry, I couldn’t resist!)

Anyway…

When Silla and Nori arrive, everything is wonderful.  Cathy is like a mother they always wished they had.  Until…things change.

Two years after their arrival, (crazy) Cathy disappears to the attic and refuses to come down, leaving Silla to care for Nori herself.  Food is diminishing in the house, and the garden has gone barren.  With the threat of World War III on the verge, everyone in the nearby town has disappeared.

But then, things start getting worse.

The trees are, literally, moving closer to the house and begin to engulf it.  And the Creeper Man, a demon that Cathy and her sisters created when they were younger, has come for Nori.

With the help of a mysterious boy, Gowan, can Silla save her sister…and herself?

Continue reading

911xmhn92brl

Second Look: HARRY POTTER AND THE CURSED CHILD

I’m going to preface this post with a few things:

  • I love reading plays.
  • JK Rowling can do no wrong in my eyes.

When I escaped to the Jersey shore for a weekend with my mom, I stuffed Harry Potter and the Cursed Child in my bag for my beach read.  I have a ton of books on my iPad to read, but I didn’t want to take that to the beach and risk not being able to see the screen.  And, I figured, it would finally give me time to read this book!

Needless to say, I finished it quickly and loved every single page.

911xmhn92brl

J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Cursed Child
Jack Thorne & John Tiffany
Arthur A. Levine Books, 2016

What It’s About:

Set 19 years after the events of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, the play has a double-narrative, focusing on Harry and his middle son, Albus.

Harry is now working for The Ministry for Magic. (Hermione’s Minister, which should surprise no one.)  His middle child, Albus, is getting ready to go to Hogwarts.  When Albus is sorted into Slytherin (his siblings are in Gryffindor), he befriends the son of Draco Malfoy (who’s actually a nice kid).

Determined to fix his father’s mistakes, Albus and Scorpius team up with Delphi Diggory to steal a Time Turner and go back in time to save Cedric Diggory from dying at Voldemort’s wand.

Needless to say, this is not a good idea.  And if anyone knows anything about time travel (or have seen any of the Back to the Future movies), you know that if you do one thing in the past, it drastically changes the future.  Need I say more?

Continue reading

thecabin

Second Look: Natasha Preston’s THE CABIN

If you follow us on Twitter (and you should!), you may have noticed I tweeted about this book as I was reading it.  Namely:

But then, I finished it and:

Without further ado, the review! (Hey, I rhymed!)

thecabin

September 6, 2016

Natasha Preston, The Cabin
Sourcebooks Fire, 2016

What It’s About:  It’s their last summer before University, and Mackenzie and her friends decide to have a Summer Bucket List.  On that list? A debaucherous weekend at friend Josh’s cabin in the woods.

However, a weekend that’s meant for drinking and having fun quickly turns into a nightmare when Mackenzie discovers her best friend, Courtney, and Josh (Courtney’s boyfriend) dead in the kitchen.

Unable to remember anything that happened the night before, Mackenzie and her friends are the only suspects in the double-murder.

Mackenzie, who refuses to believe any of her friends are cold-blooded killers, works with Josh’s older brother, Blake (and love interest!), to clear their names.  But…will they be targeted next?

Continue reading

potter1

Author News! J.K. Rowling is a Goddess Incarnate

So, I just finished Harry Potter and the Cursed Child (review coming this weekend!).  But I couldn’t help but thinking there is so much that Rowling could continue to explore in the wizarding world, that doesn’t directly involve Harry, Hermoine, or Ron.

And wouldn’t you know…there is.

Not one, but two new short story collections from the wonderful, prolific JK Rowling!  Both coming out THIS YEAR.

From the Huffington Post article:

All three eBooks promise to “take you beyond the Harry Potter stories as J.K. Rowling reveals her inspiration, intricate details of characters’ lives and surprises from the wizarding world,” according to the synopses.

I’m not really sure I need to actually sell these books to readers.  Just know, they are getting preordered.  Right now.